Skip to Main Content

Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital

306 Prairie Avenue SW
PO Box 160
De Smet, SD 57231
605-854-3161 Fax

About Us

Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital provides state-of-the-art health care with a caring, compassionate touch to residents in De Smet and communities in the surrounding area. Our knowledgable employees and medical staff deliver care with the ultimate goal of exceeding each and every patient's expectations.

Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital is owned by the City of De Smet, leased by Avera Queen of Peace Hospital and governed by a local advisory board. This allows the medical center to grow and advance, providing access to modern health care – close to where you live!



The administrative staff at Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital is responsible for planning the framework for delivering health care that exceeds customer expectations. The administration is also responsible for assessing the needs of the customer and community to develop the services and programs to meet those needs.

Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital's administrative staff is directed by the Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital Advisory Board and guided by Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital corporate bylaws. Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital is owned by the City of De Smet and leased and managed by Avera Queen of Peace Hospital.

Administrative Team

Administrative Office Hours

Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital's administration offices operate from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday with the exception of major holiday observances.

Mission, Vision, Values

Avera Mission

Avera is a health ministry rooted in the Gospel. Our mission is to make a positive impact in the lives and health of persons and communities by providing quality services guided by Christian values.


To provide health care services that exceed our customers' expectations.


  1. We place those we serve first.

  2. Everyone at DMH is an equally important member of the team.

  3. Each of us is personally responsible for continually finding ways to improve.

  4.  We practice "The Golden Rule."

Hospital Advisory Board

Hospital Advisory Board

Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital is a not-for-profit, community hospital which is owned by the City of De Smet, leased by Avera Queen of Peace Hospital and governed by an advisory board. The nine-member board consists of one medical staff representative, two De Smet City Council representatives and the president/CEO of Avera Queen of Peace Hospital. The other five board members are elected at large.

Each board member is elected for a three-year term and can serve up to two consecutive terms.

De Smet Advisory Board

Back Row from left to right: Jill Hoek, Ed Wilkinson, Paul Casper, Dennis Helms, Janice Schardin and Tracey Larson


Front row from left to right:  Glenda Odegaard, Eileen Wolkow, Sharry Knock and Maurine Lembke.  



The Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital Foundation allows area residents and businesses to invest in the future of health care in their own community while, perhaps, remembering a loved one at the same time.

Established to support and enhance the health, education and wellness of those served by Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital and its affiliates, the Foundation is a not-for-profit, tax-exempt corporation created to raise funds and create endowments for such items as:

  • Purchase of new equipment for up-to-date diagnostic, medical and treatment services.
  • Development of new services and patient care programs.
  • Construction and renovation needs.
  • Community wellness and education projects, and more.

The Foundation is governed by a volunteer, 11-member board.

Gift income is raised annually through gifts, pledges, endowments and various special events. All donors are recognized on the donor recognition wall located inside the lobby of Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital. If you'd like more information on giving or volunteering for one of the Foundation special events, call 605-854-3329.

The Community of De Smet, SD

About De Smet, SD

Centrally located in eastern South Dakota, De Smet is a small community with about 1,150 residents. Renowned as the home of Laura Ingalls Wilder, American pioneer and children's author of the famous "Little House on the Prairie" books, the town of De Smet has become an attraction stop for tourists traveling through South Dakota.

Visitors can capture the pioneering spirit by visiting the Ingalls homestead and the original Loftus store, and experience Laura's story of her family's struggles and joys at a live, outdoor, summer pageant

In addition to its history, De Smet also hosts a variety of other unique recreational activities. Lake Thompson, South Dakota's largest natural lake, is a fisherman's haven of walleye, perch and northern pike. Visitors can also enjoy a tour of the city library, which houses several original works of prairie artist Harvey Dunn, a South Dakota wildlife display, a country print shop, two family-oriented parks and several other recreational activities located in and around the area.

Call 1-800-LAURASD or visit the City of De Smet website for more information on this "little town on the prairie."