Welcome to Avera CNA On-Line Training Solutions 3.0©.
This course is designed to prepare a nursing assistant for employment, and to meet the qualifications for taking the South Dakota nursing assistant certification exam.
This self-paced on-line course is divided into three units. Students are guided through the course material via a Course Syllabus and on-line learning prompts. Upon completing each unit, the student must record results for each unit on the Training Documentation Form (75% or greater is required). When Chapters 1 – 7 and 19 are complete, the student will have met the 16-hour learning requirement that must be completed prior to resident/patient contact while employed in a Long-Term Care Nursing Facility, as required by Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA’87). The Facility’s Supplemental Instructor will verify the student has met the State of South Dakota’s requirements to work with residents. When the remaining two units are completed, the student will have completed the didactic portion of the Avera CNA On-Line Training Solutions© program. Students shall complete the Final Exam (75% minimum score); results are to be recorded onto the Training Documentation Form and approved by the Supplemental Instructor. Students then will be required to complete an 8-hour skills laboratory which includes demonstration by the instructor and return demonstration.
Each student is required to complete 16 hours of clinical instruction under the direct guidance of the Facility’s Supplemental Instructor.
Upon successful completion of the 75 hours of nursing assistant training, the student is eligible to take the South Dakota State Certificate Examination. Each student will be required to complete a computerized knowledge test consisting of 75 randomized questions and then perform five randomly selected skill tasks. Skill steps are identified for each task and a minimum number of steps to be performed. Students will be evaluated on these steps. The purpose of the Skill Test is to assess your performance of skills. Students must receive the minimum passing score of at least 75% on the Certification Exam.
Class Cancellation Policy
Cancellations made within 5 business days of registration will be charged a $50 cancellation fee. Any cancellations made after 5 business days will be charged the full course fee. Registrations may not be transferred.