Skip to Content
Alert IconDepending on COVID-19 spread, visitation may not be allowed at Avera locations. Please check with the facility before visiting.
Use this COVID-19 resource if you have symptoms or have been exposed. View a list of clinic and facility closures.

Halos for Heroes

Transforming Health Care in Central South Dakota

Halos for Heroes

Halos for Heroes is a program that evolved out of Avera St. Mary’s Hospital’s desire to highlight the relationship between patients and providers. It allows patients, family and friends to recognize and honor a specific Avera St. Mary’s staff member who provided them with outstanding service.

Halos for Heroes endorses Avera St. Mary’s ideals in the areas of quality, service, cost, people, growth, and community in its quest to build an outstanding organization that better serves the needs of patients.

How does it work?

Those wishing to pay tribute to a special caregiver at an Avera St. Mary's facility can make a contribution in his/her name by contacting Avera St. Mary's Foundation, or by downloading the Halos for Heroes Donation Form. Avera ST. Mary's Foundation will, on receipt of the donation, arrange to honor the Hero by presenting them with a Halos for Heroes pin.

What are the Benefits?

There are numerous benefits to both patients and staff through the Halos for Heroes program. First, it honors excellence in service provided throughout Avera St. Mary's. Second, donations from Halos for Heroes benefit patients through better programs, services and technology. Finally, the program helps promote world-class healthcare for Central South Dakota.

Halo Heroes

The following were recognized through the Avera St. Mary's Foundation's Halos for Heroes program. Halos for Heroes recognizes associates, volunteers, nurses and physicians who have touched the lives of patients in a special way.

  • Lee Calkins
  • Jenny Kelly
  • Tony Knife
  • Vicky Waitman
  • Peggy Moreno
  • Jennifer Bertram
  • Britt Williams
  • Sandy Meier
  • Dee Ann Randall
  • Misty Scherlock
  • Amanda Reis
  • Connie Pierce
  • Dr. Gonzalo H. Sanchez
  • Tamara Matthews
  • Brit Williams
  • Kara Rounds
  • Jenny Badger
  • Lori Walker
  • Tressa Reindi
  • Genevieve Evans
  • Jann Vaudrin
  • Jody Hardwick
  • Linda Hackett
  • Sandi Jacobson
  • Michelle Alland
  • Dr. Darrell W. Plumage
  • Dr. Denise Hanisch
  • Pam Templeton
  • Zoe Olson
  • Julie Cholik
  • Sandee Smith
  • Kathy Hansen Stahl
  • Roger Hatling
  • Corinne Norman
  • Dr. Christopher D. Stanley
  • Dr. Dale E. Vizcarra
  • Dr. Joseph Villa
  • Roberta Sanchez Taylor
  • Stephen Payne
  • Hope Lopez
  • Christina Ahrendt
  • 2nd Floor Nurses

Live Better. Live Balanced. Avera.

Avera is a health ministry rooted in the Gospel. Our mission is to make a positive impact in the lives and health of persons and communities by providing quality services guided by Christian values.

© 2020 Avera Health, Sioux Falls, SD. All Rights Reserved.